Astra Owners Network banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am wondering if anyone can shed some light on this problem. For the past year the car intermittently does not start on the 1st go - will just crank, but then will always start on the second go. Initially, it went into the garage, new battery, new spark plugs, new keys. It went to an auto electrician - fault could not be traced. There are no codes on my basic obd2 reader or on a pedal test. Looking through various forums, looks like there are a myriad of possibilities ranging from crank and camshaft sensors to ecu problems. The car runs perfectly apart from this one problem. It does feel like a binary problem - it either cranks and cranks and doesn't start and then will fire up on second go straight away. Or will start first time.FYI - I am a fairly new diy mechanic.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi, I am wondering if anyone can shed some light on this problem. For the past year the car intermittently does not start on the 1st go - will just crank, but then will always start on the second go. Initially, it went into the garage, new battery, new spark plugs, new keys. It went to an auto electrician - fault could not be traced. There are no codes on my basic obd2 reader or on a pedal test. Looking through various forums, looks like there are a myriad of possibilities ranging from crank and camshaft sensors to ecu problems. The car runs perfectly apart from this one problem. It does feel like a binary problem - it either cranks and cranks and doesn't start and then will fire up on second go straight away. Or will start first time.FYI - I am a fairly new diy mechanic.
Hi Gareth, did you ever get to the bottom of the intermittent starting issue?
My Zafira 1.8 z18xer is giving me the same grief!
I’ve swapped the cam sensors x2 Delphi ones plus the crank sensor again a Delphi one, not an easy job that one!
New spark plugs
New battery
New coil pack