Astra Owners Network banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I have just got a sapphire black SXI and I really want to get a high gloss finish on it. normally I just wash my cars with shampoo then wax it. But I have notices some fine scratches on it and looking at the pictures of black Astra on the forum I would like to speand some time on mine getting it to look like these.

I have been given an electric car polisher but was wondering about what to use and how to do it. I have seen posts regarding Snow Foam, Clay and differant polishes and sealers but was wondering what you would recommend to a complete novice?

Thanks
Phil

·
Premium Member
1,073 Posts
Do what I did on here, read up as much as you can on here about how you use clay etc and then start from there.

As for polishes/sealents etc everyone has their own favorites just look for the finish you'd like and price up the products that were used.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks
I will carry on reading the post here. Can anyone recomment a good place to get these things from?

·
Registered
5,597 Posts
first things first if you rlooking at using a polisher what one is it and have you used one before as a scrap panel might not be a bad idea.

do you need the whole kit or just bits as once its correected you need to know how to maintain the finish whilst minimal.

2 buckets - b&q
wash mitt/sponge (grout sponge or zymol sponge)- cleanyourcar.com
drying towel decent one- cleanyourcar.com
dodo lime prime by machine or hand - cleanyourcar.com
if by hand then Ag Super resin polish - halfrauds
chemical guys ez creme - cleanyourcar.com
dodo purple haze or if you can push to it dodo supernatural though now winters comin u might wana think about coli and leave the dodo till spring/summer- cleanyourcar.com

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi Alan
All I have at the moment is some cheap shampoo, wax and a bucket. The sponge has been binned.