Astra Owners Network banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Basically i've never posted in a forum in my entire life!
I have a 1.4 Astra Sport Hatch in red.
It's my first year of driving so thinking about insurance yadda yadda!
I want it lowering, wheels powder coating black and windows tinting, my budget is tight so it needs to be done properly to last but cheap also!
Would love to swap my 16" Breeze Plus alloys for a set of 16" Sxi ones..

I'm sure I'll get into the swing of things and over the next year or so you guys can help me make my car beautiful!

-Matt

·
A.O.N Assistant Regional Organiser - Scotland East
27,717 Posts
welcome to AON.

As its your first car, and am guessing insurance wasn't cheap? I would probably try and stay away from the performance or handling mods as some mainstream insurance companies tend to rub there hands together when a new driver adds them to the car, but small things like new wheels, especially if your going with OEM vauxhall ones shouldn't be a problem, as is the tinting.

One thing I will say however, and goes with most things, you get what you pay for, especially with lowering kits and especially coilovers, if you can't afford it now, put money aside for when you can afford the better stuff, it will pay off in the long run, for some simple lowering you can use the eibach springs, depending on the kit you can lower it 30mm all round or 50mm on the front and 30 on the back, can be used with the std shocks as well, but most uprate them to VXR shocks, or if you want the best lowering spring combination, Blistien shocks with either eibachs or dap springs, then you have the coil overs.

·
Registered
5,604 Posts
Welcome to AON :wave: from a fellow Yorkshire woman :lol:

Where abouts in the region are you from?

If you keep an eye on the Yorkshire section of the forum you will be able to see any info on meets we are having should u want to come and join in the banter :)

·
Registered
15 Posts