Astra Owners Network banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry if this has been posted before,

but today I took my car to the mechanic to refill the air conditioning gas so once that was done I notice my reverse lights kept going off and on whilst the mechanic was trying to reverse the car, and there's me thinking does he know what he's doing? lol.. Anyway.. he says he was testing the clutch because he realises the grind when putting it into reverse straight away after pushing up the button.

He told me the clutch is basically and I quote 'on its way out' (basically slowly dying) - So I wanted to hear from anyone if that's the case, plus I'm a newbie so bear with me because I notice the grind all the time, but when I wait a few seconds before putting it into reverse with the button pressed it doesn't grind and goes in reverse just fine; so I assumed it was fine and didn't bother to get it checked out.

·
Registered
675 Posts
Not sure its clutch, don't get me wrong it could be. But also could indicate a gearbox problem. If clutch was on its way out you'd notice the noise more when changing gear, and maybe even feel it slipping. See how it is for a few miles first.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Not sure its clutch, don't get me wrong it could be. But also could indicate a gearbox problem. If clutch was on its way out you'd notice the noise more when changing gear, and maybe even feel it slipping. See how it is for a few miles first.
Hmmm, I'm taking it back there on wednesday for them to examine further, I just hope I don't have to spend too much money.. but I assume any problems with the gearbox/clutch is expensive, right?

·
Registered
14,747 Posts
the clutch on the air con, or the clutch on the car?

anyway, few things, its normal for the car to grind putting it in reverse quickly after going forward.