Astra Owners Network banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can any1 tell me what the meter readings (ohms) should be for the camshaft sensor on a 1999 Astra x20xev, Simtec 70. The sensor part no is 90520850.

Just ive brought a new sensor off ebay and code 0340 still comes up after ive reset it with opcom.

The readings on the new sensor are
1+2 = 8.14m ohms
2+3 = Open circuit
1+3 = Open circuit Is this correct?

Thanks
Adam
 

·
A.O.N - Approved Vauxhall Specialist (Anthony)
Joined
·
5,025 Posts
I don't have the exact readings, and they can vary depending on the voltage the multimeter produces at the test probes. I would expect a reading of some sort across all pins. Have you tried the probes both ways round on the sensor?

I guess you don't get the TPS code anymore with this sensor fitted?

Have you checked the cam timing, and that the cambelt is correctly tensioned?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for reply

I tested the sensor again with the probes the other way round and got better readings, and used a different meter coz mines at home.
1+2 = 4.70m Ohms
2+3 = 10.14m Ohms

Which is better than what i thought were open circuits.

Yes im not getting the TPS fault now, it was because i was being sold the wrong sensor from 2 different stores (Eurocar parts and Allparts) They sold me 93171450b and another part number instead of 90520850.

Like you say, i will check the belt tension etc and see if that solves it.

Thanks for your help,
its always you that replys to my posts

Adam
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
hi i had probs with the sensor and i bought one from vauxhall in the and all was fine after that just thought id let ya know hope ya sorted it mate:)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Its been a while since ive posted about this issue, but ive been skint and sick of trying to work out this problem.

ive since brought a genuine cam sensor from vauxhall, and still get same fault.
Re-checked wiring resistances and values in the loom and all are fine.
Checked the cambelt timing and tightness of belt and that is fine.
Tested crank sensor.
Its had a new ECU (+Transponder and key chip)
Fitted extra earth leads to engine and ECU.

I have Opcom, so can read and reset codes, but still goes into limp mode when started and get code 0340.

I really need help now, my MOT ran out last friday, and wont pass because of emissions due to being in limp mode, and really need car for work and 1 year old daughter.

I have had this fault since i brought the car in Januray 2009, so am gettin really really really pi##ed off now

Sorry for essay, and thanks for reading

Adam
 

·
A.O.N - Approved Vauxhall Specialist (Anthony)
Joined
·
5,025 Posts
Sounds like you have checked or replaced most things.

Only other thing I can think of is that the cam pulleys are incorrectly fitted or not the correct parts. The cam sensor sends a signal when an enlarged section of the cam pulley rim passes the sensor. This, I believe, is on the exhaust cam pulley. Worth a check...

Does the live data display in OP-COM show any sign of a cam sensor signal being received?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi,
I am owner of Astra MK4 X20XEV '99 with same problem like "Adz.."! I have Opel Scanner diagnosis tool and there is stored trouble code P0340 in my car computer.
I have bought several different camshaft sensors (3rd party, with part number 90520850 -like the original) but the readings for all of them are between 7-10-12 Oms witch reply to inductive sensor and they are not working on my car. The original Simens sensor used in the cars after 98 is based on the hall effect. The cars before 98 - use inductive sensor.
Readings for my original sensor are ~200 kOms which reply to Hall sensor. But I am not sure for this.

I need exact readings for working sensor X20XEV >'98, this will help me to understand what type of sensor I am searching for.

Thanks in advance,
Georgi
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Hi people, just an update on this issue..

I have finally sorted the problem,
it only took me 10 months and £400 on parts i didnt need,
and all i had to do was file 5mm off a bit of metal.

Basically...

The cam sensor needs to sit up close to the pulleys (which mine did) so it can pick up the signal from the raised area on the pulleys,
however it also needs to be in the correct position sideways (Back - front of engine,if u know what i mean).

But on the bottom mounting part of the sensor is a U shape which sits on an oversized bolt, so it cant move sideways,
you need to file off about 5mm off the edge so it can move into the correct position to pick up the signal (SEE PICS BELLOW)



Once you put the screw into the centre of the sensor, dont tighten it until you push the top of the sensor towards the back of the engine (which then makes the bottom part push towards the front of the car due to its pivot on the screw)

Hope this makes sense, and hopefully helps any1 else with the same problem as i had.


Thanks to every1 on here that helped me out, especially LADmachining

Adam
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Well I'll be jiggered, I have just had this very same issue with my MK4 SRi. I also bought a new ECU, Crank sensor, various 'scrapyard' cam sensors and lots of loom continuity testing. I even bought OPCOM to try to clear the constant barrarge of fault codes.

I saw this thread by chance after typing the part number 90520850 into Google and have now done the mod said above.

I now thanks to this thread, finally solved the ongoing cam sensor issue.

I even considered 2 weeks ago ripping the XEV out and putting a less complicated XE in.

Cheers Adam. (Y):thumbs:(Y):thumbs:(Y):thumbs:(Y)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)
Well I'll be jiggered, I have just had this very same issue with my MK4 SRi. I also bought a new ECU, Crank sensor, various 'scrapyard' cam sensors and lots of loom continuity testing. I even bought OPCOM to try to clear the constant barrarge of fault codes.

I saw this thread by chance after typing the part number 90520850 into Google and have now done the mod said above.

I now thanks to this thread, finally solved the ongoing cam sensor issue.

I even considered 2 weeks ago ripping the XEV out and putting a less complicated XE in.

Cheers Adam. (Y):thumbs:(Y):thumbs:(Y):thumbs:(Y)

No problem, just glad it has helped some1 else out.
Looks like you tried everything the same as i did.

It took me 10 painful months to finally get it sorted so i know how u feel m8
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top