: Zafira 2.2SRI 55 plate - Swirl Flaps

Workshy1
15-05-2009, 17:32
Hi
My wife has a 2.2SRI Zafira on a 55 plate and has just been diagnosed with needing to have the Swirl Flaps replaced afte Tech 2 showed an error code of P1112. Been told that remedy is 2233 Replace swril flaps new part 93192896/24437715.
Bought the car about 8 months ago and have a three year warranty from the dealer we bought from (unfortunately not a vauxhall dealer) and they are saying their warranty company will not cover this although the dealer has started to make noises about "paying for half of it" but not specified if that is parts or labour or both...
Before I open discussions with them I would like to understand what the swirl flaps do, where they fit in the engine to see if they fit under any of the headings in the warranty schedule to let me see if I can avoid shelling out much on this.
Headings covered include:
Engine - inc cylinder head etc
Fuel injection system - inc airflow meter

I am not a mechanical guy so simple explanation would be appreciated

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help - have seen some horror stories on the web about how much this might cost to fix and could really do with avoiding paying out much on this...

fabdabcab
15-05-2009, 17:38
found this it may be of interest
http://forum.astraownersnetwork.co.uk/showthread.php?t=19161

Workshy1
15-05-2009, 17:47
Thanks fabdabcab

Saw that before I posted but didn't really help all that much given I am non-mechanical; was hoping for a non-technical explanation and some idea whether I can possibly shoehorn this into one of the categories for the warranty to avoid paying too much...

Thanks anyway

Marks_DTM_Calib
15-05-2009, 18:18
I cant see how the hell the warranty can get out of that one.

Its not a wear and tear item and its not down to abuse!

The bulletin is as follows:

Field Remedy: 2233
Subject: Engine Z22YH - Engine malfunction controllamp illuminates, trouble code P1112 (64) stored
Models: Engines: Option: